Community Engagement as a Community Adviser – Spring 2016

For the last seven months, I’ve been working as a community adviser (CA) for the university. This is similar to the residential assistant (RA) position many other universities have. However, the CA position is focused towards five pillars of making successful students. These pillars touch on academic success, cultural inclusion, making healthy choices, managing personal relationships, and community engagement. My job is to facilitate all of these aspects and create programs for the students to grow in each of these fields. Through this job, I feel that I have influenced each of these student’s lives, even if only a little bit, by guiding them through their journey here at NIU. We’ve done more grueling activities such as study tables and time management activities, but also more fun activities that require quick thinking, quick decision making, and team experience to make work. I’ve decided that I’d like to continue doing this for my duration at NIU so that I can continue to influence students and hopefully make their time at NIU more enjoyable and manageable.

Leave a Reply

