February Update

First off, I could not be happier with my mentor. He is helped me understand the process more and is helping me find money so that I can present at the National Conference of Undergraduate Research (NCUR) this spring.  I’m hoping that both of this and NIU’s Undergraduate Research and Artistry Day (URAD) will be good points to spread my experience in research. Also, I hope to be able to attend open houses and similar events to talk about my time in the research rookies program. In regards to my research, it is a little behind from where I was hoping to be by this time. However, I believe I will still have something presentable for both URAD and NCUR. At worst, the assets that in the VR will not be as pretty. In my plan, I left two weeks for improving the models other assets, but those weeks can be used for in developing the system instead. This summer, I plan on remaining at NIU and continuing my research by conducting an experiment to compare this VR system to more traditional styles of learning, such as books or video lectures and seeing which medium is a better learning instrument.

Leave a Reply

