Research Rookies Reception

On Monday, December 1st, the Research Rookies program held a reception to recognize everyone involved in the program. Each rookie was required to give a short elevator pitch about their research topic. I didn’t think it would be as intimidating as it was since I’m use to teaching large groups of people. It’s strange how talking about yourself for 20 seconds can be so much more intimidating than teaching groups of 50 people for 2 hours at a time. I did, however, enjoy getting to mingle with the people who were there and talk about all of our research. In addition, I was personally mentioned when President Baker when he was giving specific recognition at the beginning of the reception. As a freshman computer scientist, that felt great since we’re typically seen as ignorant want to be programmers for the first couple years.

My favorite part, however, was being honored as a recipient of the Simmons Scholarship. I’m excited to use this honor to inspire current, future, and potential computer scientists into using what they learn in their classrooms to projects outside of school. I would like to thanks the Simmons for this wonderful opportunity to inspire future researchers. I think it’s important that I am able to communicate with the next wave of Computer Scientists, and even potential researchers in other fields, so I can share my positive experiences with as many people as possible. Hopefully, this will influence more people into attempting research at any level, either on their own or with a program like Research Rookies.

One thought on “Research Rookies Reception

  1. Hello Tripp,

    I am glad you had a good time mingling with everyone at the Research Rookies Reception. Also, congratulations on being selected as a Simmon Scholar! I hope you have a great holiday break and a happy new year!

    Best,

    Megan

    Like

Leave a Reply

